Although all eyes were on Washington last Tuesday for President Trump’s State of the Union address, Pennsylvania’s top executive delivered an important speech of his own in Harrisburg that same day. In his annual budget address, Governor Wolf reiterated his call to increase the state’s minimum wage from $7.25/hour to $12.00/hour by the end of this year. » Read More
The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry recently announced the 2019 Statewide Average Weekly Wage for workers’ compensation. For injuries occurring on and after January 1, 2019, the maximum compensation rate is $1,049.00 per week, which represents a 2.3% increase.
If you have any questions about the information contained in this blog or any other questions related to workers’ compensation law, please feel free to contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org. » Read More
The Pennsylvania Supreme Court recently decided a case that may increase an employer’s cybersecurity obligations for electronically stored employee information. In Dittman v. University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC), a class of UPMC employees filed a negligence action alleging that UPMC breached a duty of reasonable care by not protecting their electronically stored information. » Read More
And just like that, our 2018 seminars are complete. We would like to thank you to everyone who came out to our last (and clearly most fun and educational) seminar of the year!
We discussed the handling of a variety of employment issues including discrimination, harassment, employee discipline, and employee termination, as seen in popular TV programs and movies (primarily Seinfeld and the Office, obviously). » Read More
The Trump Administration is challenging the rights of transgender individuals with its proposal to eliminate federal protection under Title IX. According to a memo obtained by the New York Times, the Department of Health and Human Services is in the process of implementing a uniform definition of sex that would not protect transgender students. » Read More
As employers with New Jersey employees should know, the state’s Paid Sick Leave Act goes into effect on October 29, 2018. The Act requires all employers, regardless of size, to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave to employees in a “benefit year” that is determined by the employer. » Read More