The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry recently announced the 2019 Statewide Average Weekly Wage for workers’ compensation. For injuries occurring on and after January 1, 2019, the maximum compensation rate is $1,049.00 per week, which represents a 2.3% increase.
If you have any questions about the information contained in this blog or any other questions related to workers’ compensation law, please feel free to contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org. » Read More
Imagine that an employee of yours gets injured at work. He files a claim for workers’ compensation, goes out on leave, and returns to work two weeks later. Two weeks after that, the employee is fired for a policy violation. Several months later, the employee signs a Compromise and Release Agreement (“C&R”) to settle his workers’ compensation claims. » Read More
Over 20 years after Section 306(a.2) of the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act was enacted, employers will no longer be able to limit partial disability benefits to 500 weeks based on an Impairment Rating Evaluation (IRE). On June 20, 2017, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court issued its opinion in Protz v. » Read More
Norris McLaughlin will be hosting a series of free breakfast seminars which will highlight timely legal developments and managerial concerns in labor and employment law. These seminars will provide crucial information for human resource professionals, business owners, and in-house lawyers responsible for employment law matters. » Read More
With 2015 coming to an end, New Jersey employers must ready their businesses for the coming year. With this in mind, we have compiled the following information for New Jersey employers to consider as we enter 2016.
The New Jersey Department of Labor announced in September 2015 that the state minimum wage would remain the same.