While New Jersey has long been considered progressive in preserving and protecting the employment rights of its citizens (see last year’s Pay Equity and Paid Sick Leave Laws), current activity in the Legislature and Governor’s office relating to laws impacting the workplace is at an all-time high. » Read More
Today, October 29, the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act goes into effect. Employers around the state have been working to update their sick leave or Paid Time Off policies to be fully compliant with this new workplace requirement. The law, however, has left many questions unanswered. » Read More
Pat Collins led his second briefing this morning on New Jersey’s Paid Sick Leave Act.
Pat spoke to a crowd of fifty HR Professionals and attorneys on the new paid sick leave law that goes into effect on October 29. He provided a complete overview of the law, along with an analysis of the steps employers must take to come into compliance. » Read More
The New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Day Act, more commonly referred to as the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act, goes into effect on October 29, 2018, and applies to all New Jersey employers, regardless of size. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development has published a “Notice of Employee Rights” which is available here. » Read More
On May 2, 2018, Governor Murphy signed into law the New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Day Act, more commonly referred to as the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act. This new law goes into effect on October 29, 2018, and applies to all New Jersey employers, regardless of size. » Read More
Earlier this year, we published a blog entry and a client alert about the New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Days Act. This new law, signed by Gov. Murphy on May 2, 2018, takes effect on October 29. We have begun working with a number of our clients to assist them in reviewing their paid time off (“PTO”) policies to ensure compliance with the Sick Leave Act. » Read More
On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed into law the New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Days Act (the “Act”), providing the vast majority of New Jersey’s private sector workers paid sick leave benefits. The Act, which will take effect on October 29, 2018, makes New Jersey the tenth state, in addition to the District of Columbia, to offer these benefits. » Read More
With 2016 coming to an end, New Jersey employers must ready their business for the coming year. With this in mind, we have compiled the following information for New Jersey employers to consider as we enter 2017:
The New Jersey Department of Labor announced in September 2015 that the state minimum wage would be raised from $8.38 to $8.44 per hour.