In the wake of the new minimum wage law passed earlier this month, eight immigrant workers have filed a lawsuit against Caribbean Car Wash Inc. in Elizabeth, New Jersey (CCW), alleging CCW paid them less than $5 per hour for many years and denied them overtime because of their immigration status, or lack thereof. » Read More
While New Jersey has long been considered progressive in preserving and protecting the employment rights of its citizens (see last year’s Pay Equity and Paid Sick Leave Laws), current activity in the Legislature and Governor’s office relating to laws impacting the workplace is at an all-time high. » Read More
Although all eyes were on Washington last Tuesday for President Trump’s State of the Union address, Pennsylvania’s top executive delivered an important speech of his own in Harrisburg that same day. In his annual budget address, Governor Wolf reiterated his call to increase the state’s minimum wage from $7.25/hour to $12.00/hour by the end of this year. » Read More
The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry recently announced the 2019 Statewide Average Weekly Wage for workers’ compensation. For injuries occurring on and after January 1, 2019, the maximum compensation rate is $1,049.00 per week, which represents a 2.3% increase.
If you have any questions about the information contained in this blog or any other questions related to workers’ compensation law, please feel free to contact me at email@example.com. » Read More
Today, October 29, the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act goes into effect. Employers around the state have been working to update their sick leave or Paid Time Off policies to be fully compliant with this new workplace requirement. The law, however, has left many questions unanswered. » Read More
Pat Collins led his second briefing this morning on New Jersey’s Paid Sick Leave Act.
Pat spoke to a crowd of fifty HR Professionals and attorneys on the new paid sick leave law that goes into effect on October 29. He provided a complete overview of the law, along with an analysis of the steps employers must take to come into compliance. » Read More
The New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Day Act, more commonly referred to as the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act, goes into effect on October 29, 2018, and applies to all New Jersey employers, regardless of size. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development has published a “Notice of Employee Rights” which is available here. » Read More
Want to receive these blogs in an email? Subscribe here: